Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Crown DCI 4/300 Amplifier ?

   
Author Topic: Crown DCI 4/300 Amplifier ?
Gary DiVito
Film Handler

Posts: 18
From: Reno Nevada USA
Registered: Aug 2017


 - posted 01-18-2018 01:23 PM      Profile for Gary DiVito   Email Gary DiVito   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have a chance to purchase this amplifier at 65% discount they are an expensive amp.A four channel amp But I will use in bridged mono mode to power my TAD 18 inch subwoofer pair. The output is 600 Watts @8ohms. The subs are single woofer . My question are digital amps ok to use on Subs I am using analog amps type AB for the rest of my System.These Are Crown Top of the line retailing over 2k hard to pass up.

 |  IP: Logged

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

Posts: 8214
From: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Registered: Nov 2004


 - posted 01-18-2018 03:10 PM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
What you got is a Crown Drivecore 4/300 and true, they are a spendy amp being 4 amps under one roof.

I have Drivecore 4/300s driving paired subs in the bridge mode.

Amp is an amp since the processor and the source are pushing out analog information and using the Phoenix input connectors.

Only time it's digital if you're using CAT6 cabling to the amplifiers.

Oh, and make sure you get a warranty with these units, for they're also spendy to repair.

 |  IP: Logged

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster

Posts: 16009
From: Bountiful, Utah
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 01-18-2018 04:00 PM      Profile for Mark Gulbrandsen   Email Mark Gulbrandsen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Be aware that Harmon is shutting down the Crown factory in Mishawaka, IN and moving everything to China. Not sure who if anyone is taking over the repair in the States. I'd be looking at QSC DCM even if it's the less expensive line of amps. They sound better then any Crown I have used over the years. Most reliable sound techs in this field stopped using Crown many years ago.

https://www.qsc.com/cinema/products/power-amplifiers/dca-series/

Mark

 |  IP: Logged

Gary DiVito
Film Handler

Posts: 18
From: Reno Nevada USA
Registered: Aug 2017


 - posted 01-18-2018 06:05 PM      Profile for Gary DiVito   Email Gary DiVito   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thanks Monty & Mark I bought the two 4/300 this afternoon because after reading all about them they are great amps. Very excellent sound and definition.Monty I will use the pair in bridged mono mode on my 2 18 inch subs.I would think that 600 Watts at 8ohms going to the subs would give me enough headroom to realize the 20hz capability. What is your experience with your setup?
Thanks
Gary

 |  IP: Logged

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

Posts: 8214
From: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Registered: Nov 2004


 - posted 01-18-2018 09:57 PM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
They install like any other amp, but they do have one interesting feature that can save their life a bit and that they can be set to go into sleep mode when there is no signal for after ten minutes.

On the back to the left is a set of dip switches and the top left you see three dip switches with switch C marked Power Save. Enable this switch and the unit goes to sleep if not receiving signal after 10 minutes and it wakes up immediately when signal come in.

Two important things one has to do to keep these units healthy:

Blow compressed air in the front to keep the dust buildup in control.

Put these amps on a surge/UPS unit, for being a transformer less unit, a sudden kick in current will knock these units dead in a heartbeat in as well as the front power switch isn't the most durable item in the world either.

Also, just make doubly sure that wire to speaker connections are wrench tight and using the appropriate gauge stranded wire, like we are using 14g to the subs.

Otherwise, theyre decent amps. Good luck.

 |  IP: Logged

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster

Posts: 16009
From: Bountiful, Utah
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 01-19-2018 11:22 AM      Profile for Mark Gulbrandsen   Email Mark Gulbrandsen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Only 14 gauge Monte?

 -

 |  IP: Logged

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

Posts: 8214
From: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Registered: Nov 2004


 - posted 01-26-2018 03:20 PM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
14g paired.

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.