Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Cinema Sound Equalization (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Cinema Sound Equalization
Syed Hussain
Film Handler

- posted 01-03-2018 02:05 AM      Profile for Syed Hussain   Email Syed Hussain   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi,

I am a home theatre developer who is moving into realm of cinema development. I have a couple of questions if someone can help me.

Are the dolby and datasat the only sound processors that are DCP compliant. Also in commercial cinema's how is sound equalization performed?

Thanks

|  IP: Logged

Marcel Birgelen
Film God

- posted 01-03-2018 02:46 AM      Profile for Marcel Birgelen   Email Marcel Birgelen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
When it comes to audio processors there isn't really a thing like "DCP compliant".

If you want to be DCP compliant, you need to at least support 5.1 audio or better 7.1 audio. The outputs on your server will be generic AES/EBU per channel, which is supported by tons of gear out there. The way you convert those signals from digital to analog and how you distribute and amplify those over your theater are not within the scope, hence there are many solutions.

There are cinema solutions provided by other vendors, like QSC, Trinnov and Barco.

If you want to support Dolby Atmos, then you're obviously stuck with Dolby for the moment, as they are the only supplier of Atmos compliant decoders for DCPs.

Harold Hallikainen
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 01-03-2018 04:40 PM      Profile for Harold Hallikainen   Author's Homepage   Email Harold Hallikainen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post