Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Zeiss arc lamps

Author Topic: Zeiss arc lamps
David Hayward
Film Handler

- posted 12-04-2017 12:31 AM      Profile for David Hayward   Email David Hayward   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi...Yesterday I picked up a pair of Zeiss carbon arc projector lamps that were removed from a local cinema. Thay have both been converted to Xenon short arc bulbs, which are in tact and look good.The internal workings for initial striking of the arc are complete, presumably from the old carbon system, but no rectifier or D.C power supply to keep them lit. I have very little electrical experience of these systems, and, given the price of the bulbs, and their inherent hazardous nature, I am seeking help before I do anything.... I have heard they can be run using an invertor arc welder, but not sure. Can anyone help me with wiring diagrams, or info please...? I can post photo's of what I have, if that helps. Thankyou, David.

|  IP: Logged

Dave Macaulay
Film God

- posted 12-04-2017 05:10 AM      Profile for Dave Macaulay   Email Dave Macaulay   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
A carbon arc strikes by having the carbons touched together momentarily and then pulled apart to the correct gap. Then they need to be fed towards each other at just the right speed to make up for the rate of burning, plus keeping the gap at the mirror focus. That mechanism will not work, at all, for a xenon lamp. Some of the original carbon adjustments are likely used to position the xenon lamp for optimising image brightness. The feed motors are not used. A carbon arc mirror is not well suited to xenon lamps. Conversions involved essentially gutting the lamphouse and putting in a new mirror, ignitor, and wiring.