Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum

Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » consumer 3D sources to CP series

Author Topic: consumer 3D sources to CP series
Trevor Cable
Film Handler

Posts: 22
From: Hillsboro, OR, USA
Registered: Jan 2011

 - posted 10-20-2017 10:45 AM      Profile for Trevor Cable   Email Trevor Cable   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
We are a content producer and have several Christie CP2210's. Most of the software we use for projection uses dual link SDI for our stereoscopic workflow. It's been requested of me to setup a new software package which uses the consumer flavors of stereoscopic formats (under/over, checkerboard,etc). I know Christie used to have an alternate content device that is now discontinued and there used to be a product called Davio that also did this.

Does anyone know if a CP series projector out of the box can now support consumer formats? I've tried in the past and didn't get anywhere with this. Before digging in again I thought I'd ask around.

 |  IP: Logged

Steve Guttag
We forgot the crackers Gromit!!!

Posts: 11757
From: Annapolis, MD
Registered: Dec 1999

 - posted 10-20-2017 12:09 PM      Profile for Steve Guttag   Email Steve Guttag   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
No Christie projectors that I know but Barco's ICMP can handle consumer 3D.

That said, ask Christie if they have any SKA-3Ds around. Last I heard, they did. That might be your best bet.

 |  IP: Logged

Dave Macaulay
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1940
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: Apr 2001

 - posted 10-21-2017 10:18 AM      Profile for Dave Macaulay   Email Dave Macaulay   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Barco also has/had an outboard alt content 3D decoder thing.
The ICMP will do 3D but it is rather particular about format - I could get a 3D BluRay to work but a workstation generated signal... no. They ended up getting it to work from a $$$ pro video card and support from their $$$$$ rendering software supplier but Barco was not very helpful. Since it worked via Blu-Ray Barco tossed the problem back to me (a justifiable and reasonable position to take).

 |  IP: Logged

Peter Castle
Expert Film Handler

Posts: 207
From: Wollongong University, NSW ,Australia
Registered: Oct 2003

 - posted 10-21-2017 06:52 PM      Profile for Peter Castle   Email Peter Castle   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I've projected 3D BluRay with our NEC3240 via the GDC 2000AR IMB.

 |  IP: Logged

Alan Gouger
Master Film Handler

Posts: 465
From: Bradenton, FL, USA
Registered: Jul 2000

 - posted 10-21-2017 07:39 PM      Profile for Alan Gouger   Author's Homepage   Email Alan Gouger   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Ive had success with consumer ( frame-packed ) 3D using the USL CMS-2200, Doremi/dolby IMS-1000, Barco Alchemy. All had their unique setup quirks but all delivered reliable and stable 3d post setup.

 |  IP: Logged

Marcel Birgelen
Film God

Posts: 2233
From: Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Registered: Feb 2012

 - posted 10-22-2017 01:49 AM      Profile for Marcel Birgelen   Email Marcel Birgelen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Not knowing your specific workflow, but going the DCP route isn't possible? DCP-o-Matic supports 3D DCP creation from "consumer sources".

 |  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

Posts: 3290
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: Aug 2009

 - posted 10-22-2017 07:44 AM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Christie 2210 are cinema projectors. I guess you wouldn't opt for them if you do not also use them with a DCI server, IMB/IMS? So, is there a server, IMB/IMS as well? Because, some of them have HDMI inputs capable of consumer formats. So, let us know how the Christie card cage is populated.

In how far does a new software package need consumer formats? Will it need a different set of I/O connectivity towards the projector?

- Carsten

 |  IP: Logged

All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:

Powered by Infopop Corporation

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.