Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Automate/Device Set Up – NEC NC900, GDC SX3000

   
Author Topic: Automate/Device Set Up – NEC NC900, GDC SX3000
Taylor Goins
Film Handler

Posts: 6
From: Lake Isabella, CA, USA
Registered: May 2016


 - posted 10-01-2017 05:52 PM      Profile for Taylor Goins   Email Taylor Goins   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Had the server replaced, so all the automation cues are gone. They set it up last time, but I guess they didn’t this time. No idea why I can’t figure out how to make them work. Advice? Hoping they’ll help me through phone/email without charging to come back.

 |  IP: Logged

Matt Fields
Jedi Master Film Handler

Posts: 537
From: Jackson, Ohio, United States
Registered: Jun 2005


 - posted 10-01-2017 07:03 PM      Profile for Matt Fields   Email Matt Fields   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Is there another screen with the same setup in the building?

If so, copy the configuration from the GDC of that existing system onto a flash drive and restore it to your new IMB. That should give you the cues, then you will need to change the IP's of the devices section of the automation on the GDC to fit that screen.

 |  IP: Logged

Taylor Goins
Film Handler

Posts: 6
From: Lake Isabella, CA, USA
Registered: May 2016


 - posted 10-01-2017 07:14 PM      Profile for Taylor Goins   Email Taylor Goins   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Sadly no, one screen only. Wish I had known this prior... I set up the device screen. But I have no idea if I entered the info correctly. Obviously not since the cues aren’t working.

 |  IP: Logged

Gordon McLeod
Film God

Posts: 9431
From: Toronto Ontario Canada
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 10-01-2017 07:39 PM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
before you sign off one should ensure the engineer finishes the install and all works i suspect he/she needs to come back

 |  IP: Logged

Jim Cassedy
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1521
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: Dec 2006


 - posted 10-01-2017 08:02 PM      Profile for Jim Cassedy   Email Jim Cassedy   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The GDC installation and operations manuals can be found online with a
bit of searching.

GDC also produced a series of about 20 informative instructional videos
covering a number of topics, but I can't recall if 'device set up' was
one of them. Some of the videos are available publicly on You Tube, but
most of them are 'for authorized customers only' and you'll have to get
the private links from either GDC or your service company.

(I initially learned almost all I needed to know about GDC's from
watching these 'official' videos)

 |  IP: Logged

Taylor Goins
Film Handler

Posts: 6
From: Lake Isabella, CA, USA
Registered: May 2016


 - posted 10-01-2017 08:39 PM      Profile for Taylor Goins   Email Taylor Goins   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
He will be in contact with me tomorrow... figuring this stuff out over the phone just isn’t pleasant. Thanks for the help!

 |  IP: Logged

Marcel Birgelen
Film God

Posts: 2388
From: Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Registered: Feb 2012


 - posted 10-03-2017 11:32 AM      Profile for Marcel Birgelen   Email Marcel Birgelen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
quote: Jim Cassedy
The GDC installation and operations manuals can be found online with a
bit of searching.

GDC also produced a series of about 20 informative instructional videos
covering a number of topics, but I can't recall if 'device set up' was
one of them. Some of the videos are available publicly on You Tube, but
most of them are 'for authorized customers only' and you'll have to get
the private links from either GDC or your service company.

While I think that most people somewhat proficient in IT can set up all the basic stuff themselves with just the manual, the biggest problem is usually the automation.

There is no universal guide to the automation that has been installed in a particular room and what interfaces and commands it uses.

 |  IP: Logged

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster

Posts: 16057
From: Bountiful, Utah
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 10-03-2017 03:05 PM      Profile for Mark Gulbrandsen   Email Mark Gulbrandsen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Who the heck is your tech? It doesn't sound like he knows what he's doing. If you happened to save a copy of the logs that were sent to GDC they most definitely contain the cues and you can restore your new server from those logs. It is an easy 2 minute procedure and to do that GDC Tech support can talk and walk you through doing it. The server reboots and the cues are back. The only thing the files don't fconfigure is thew IP Address scheme.

Mark

 |  IP: Logged

Leo Enticknap
Film God

Posts: 6839
From: Loma Linda, CA
Registered: Jul 2000


 - posted 10-03-2017 10:28 PM      Profile for Leo Enticknap   Author's Homepage   Email Leo Enticknap   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Taylor - if you haven't done so already, download and save settings and configuration files from your projector, audio processor and any other machine in your booth that allows you to do so. If the ICP in your projector dies tomorrow and has to be replaced, then if you don't have a settings package (or clone file, as Barco calls it), you're looking at having re-do all the macros, screen files, lens files ... basically, an entire reinstallation of the projector (apart from the physical positioning). Same thing with your audio processor and re-tuning the room.

Did your tech and/or GDC advise you to pull a settings/configuration backup from the deceased SX-3000 before returning it? If neither did, that's disappointing.

Whenever I do a service call anywhere now, I pull and save the settings/clone file from the projector, server and audio processor of every house I work on, so that if a situation like this does happen, I (or one of my co-workers, if they are assigned to the call) at least have something to restore as a starting point, even if it might be out of date by the time it's needed. At the last theater I worked, I made these backups monthly, or whenever any major change was made to any settings (colors shot, room tuned, that sort of thing).

 |  IP: Logged

Leslie Hartmier
Film Handler

Posts: 99
From: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Registered: Jul 2012


 - posted 10-13-2017 12:42 PM      Profile for Leslie Hartmier   Email Leslie Hartmier   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm not telling anyone how to do anything, but in the case of any hardware (and I have been doing this very thing since I had the ability with anything, including BIOS from computers), I back up the settings of anything I am changing before I change it, then I back it up after I change it.

For example, with the NEC NC900C:
1) I back up the settings using DCC for S2 including the firmware version in the filename
2) I apply the firmware upgrades
3) I reload the settings that I saved (this was a result of finding that, for some reason, on ONLY SOME of the new firmware updates, it would reset SOME settings to default.
4) I backup the settings again, in case the new firmware changes some settings
5) I test all macros, channels, and functions to ensure that everything remains as it should.
6) I pull logs to examine later, just because I always pull logs.
7) I make a copy of settings for location on a USB drive, and leave it with the manager/owner/etc.
8) I upload to our FTP server as soon as I can (if internet exists on-site, immediately)

That list looks like it takes longer than it does. However, once I have left a location, I am utterly confident that the machine I was messing with works as it should.

Same basic routine with GDC machines with differences in ability to do certain things.

1) I boot into Rescue (if possible) and back up the drive image of the old version.
2) I boot into the SMS, back up logs and configuration.
3) I update the server.
4) I reload the settings from the logs and configuration
5) I reboot.
6) I test the server functions, and examine the configuration settings.
7) I reboot into Rescue and back up the OS image.
8) I make a copy of settings for location on a USB drive, and leave it with the manager/owner/etc.
9) I upload to our FTP server as soon as I can (if internet exists on-site, immediately).

I do this whether it is a single-screen or a multiplex. It really doesn't take long, despite what it might look like. It might add ten minutes to the entire process.

As far as I am concerned, if you are unable to back up the settings yourself, you have a right to expect/request the settings and the configurations in case someone else from your maintenance company comes, you have to use a different company, or you just need to reload the settings yourself for some reason.

My thoughts anyway,

Leslie

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.