Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Playlist hanging between DCPs created on DCP-o-Matic

   
Author Topic: Playlist hanging between DCPs created on DCP-o-Matic
Ross McLaughlin
Film Handler

Posts: 22
From: Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Registered: Feb 2012


 - posted 08-25-2017 01:56 PM      Profile for Ross McLaughlin   Email Ross McLaughlin   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi all,

I run a pre-show of slides before our programmes (mainly of films coming soon), using .mov files created in FCPX and converted to DCP with DCP-o-Matic. Each different slide is its own DCP, as the order can change weekly as new films are added, old films release etc. It runs as a seamless playlist, at the start of each show.

Having swapped to a new laptop, I've downloaded the updated version of DCP-o-Matic (Version 2.10.5), as was previously using a very old version (likely 3 - 4 years at least). Now, the when the playlist reaches the new DCPs I've created, it hangs for a couple of seconds before playing them, resulting in a blank screen between slides. I've tried creating new DCPs with various different options selected (aspect ratio, SMPTE/Interop), each time had the same result. The content is created at 24fps. The only thing that has changed from when the playlists were previously created is the version of DCP-o-Matic

This is on both an NEC 1200C and 2000C, both running Dolby DSS220 servers.

Has anyone had this issue / know a fix for it?

Many thanks!

 |  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

Posts: 3776
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: Aug 2009


 - posted 08-25-2017 04:33 PM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Try to reset DCP-o-matic prefs first. What datarate have you set?

DSS220 means CAT745/IMB?

While I do not operate a DSS myself, I monitor the mailing list and forum regularly, and haven't come across such an issue. So, there are some chances that it is not a general bug in DOM, but in your specific installation or settings. Also, 2.10.5 is up for quite a while now. Are you running DOM in WIN, OS X, or Linux?

- Carsten

 |  IP: Logged

Ross McLaughlin
Film Handler

Posts: 22
From: Worthing, West Sussex, UK
Registered: Feb 2012


 - posted 08-27-2017 10:14 AM      Profile for Ross McLaughlin   Email Ross McLaughlin   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Carsten,

I've left the datarate how it was set upon install, which is set at 100mbit/s/

Yes, running a CAT745 with IMB.

Running DOM on Windows.

I've just checked the version I was using before, it was 0.74 (running as DVD-o-Matic). I'm going to try an older version of DCP-o-matic to see if my current setup just doesn't like this version of the software for whatever reason.

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.