Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Interop subtitles check error spacing

   
Author Topic: Interop subtitles check error spacing
Jordi Aguila
Film Handler

Posts: 29
From: Barcelona / Spain
Registered: Feb 2017


 - posted 07-12-2017 04:29 PM      Profile for Jordi Aguila   Email Jordi Aguila   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello, we had a raport from a lab to deliver our dcp, they have made a check with a software and it warned about a non compilant subtitles because there is a tag into xml files that says "spaceing=0".
Anyone knows if I could have any problem to play this dcp in any theater because the subtitles files have this tag?

Thank you

 |  IP: Logged

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

Posts: 8318
From: Nampa, Idaho, USA
Registered: Nov 2004


 - posted 07-12-2017 07:16 PM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
quote: Jordi Aguila
"spaceing=0".
misspelled word?

 |  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

Posts: 3780
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: Aug 2009


 - posted 07-12-2017 08:36 PM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Did you check these subtitles, and do they actually contain this tag? If yes, then why?
It's not part of the Cinecanvas/TI spec, so why is it in the file?

- Carsten

 |  IP: Logged

Marcel Birgelen
Film God

Posts: 2610
From: Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Registered: Feb 2012


 - posted 07-13-2017 03:56 AM      Profile for Marcel Birgelen   Email Marcel Birgelen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The easy answer: Those subtitles do not conform specs, so expect problems.

The more complicated answer: Since it's still valid XML, most machines will most likely just ignore the keyword they don't understand.

Don't rely on the complex answer though, fix it.

 |  IP: Logged

Lucas Iaccarino
Film Handler

Posts: 34
From: capital federal, buenos aires, argentina
Registered: Feb 2015


 - posted 08-05-2017 06:01 AM      Profile for Lucas Iaccarino   Email Lucas Iaccarino   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Yes, DCP Player software will playback it, but Digital Cinema Server are not going to show them. Same things happen when FontId is miscalled. Best thing is to extract the subtitle with some Subtitle editor software and re generate it.

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.