Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » DCP Screening at different cinemas and KDMs for each

Author Topic: DCP Screening at different cinemas and KDMs for each
Sayed Faiz
Film Handler

- posted 10-20-2016 07:02 PM      Profile for Sayed Faiz   Email Sayed Faiz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi. Please excuse my lack of understanding. But I am a newbie to this. I live in Sydney, Australia. I am screening a movie from Bangladesh here in Australia wide for all states. The movie is a DCP movie and is encrypted. Now I am trying to understand the following.
Although we have booked several cinemas at each state, depending on how good the response is, we may to have to change the cinema location and cinema venue at the last minute. However, I have already got the encrypted DCP hard drive with me. So my question is, in case I need to go to a complete different venue and location, do I need to send the DCP back to overseas to Bangladesh to update the new location details and new server address etc (since it is encrypted before with different cinema halls)?
Or can it be shown to a different cinema without me needing to courier it back to overseas? If there is last minute cinema location change, then sending the DCP hard drive back overseas and getting them back in time won't be possible. So I am trying to know if we have to send the DCP hard drive back to Bangladesh or can they just send me the KDM for the new location by email, without the need for the cinema DCP hard drive to be transported back to re-encrypt with the new location information. If the DCP can be decrypted at the new location without the need for me to re-transporting back to overseas via courier, then it will make it easy logistically for me.