Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » XYZ mastering

Author Topic: XYZ mastering
Marco Giustini
Film God

- posted 08-07-2016 06:01 AM      Profile for Marco Giustini   Email Marco Giustini   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi all
I have a mastering question.
I would like to make some test charts with accurate colours. So far the RGB to XYZ conversion done by various software is never very accurate. My white is very close to the reference but cannot be used for a measurement. My green has a tad of red as well and so on.

I thought I could create my chart in XYZ directly but it has to be 12 bit per component and so far I haven't found a free/easy solution to do so.

I'd be happy to work in XYZ and type the colours manually on the dial (and colours will then look wrong on my RGB screen) but again the problem is the colour depth.

Can anybody help me?

Cheers

|  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

- posted 08-07-2016 07:35 AM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
How would you practically use these testfiles? Single images uploaded to the projector, or to create J2K/DCP for ingest?

I don't know any 'native' XYZ image editors. I would assume imagemagick to be able to create files with precise color target, but I have no experience with it.

I guess any matrix type conversion from common creative software file formats and color spaces will never be accurate for the full input color space - you would need a custom LUT conversion to hit precise target color codes.

If only a few colors are needed, maybe a 'reverse' technique would be possible, creating a range of input values and then choosing those that create the exact target values.

- Carsten

Marco Giustini
Film God