Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Wrong audio tracks on HDMI input (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Wrong audio tracks on HDMI input
Joost Vandertogt
Film Handler

- posted 05-31-2016 08:12 AM      Profile for Joost Vandertogt   Email Joost Vandertogt   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello all, I'm pretty new in this bussiness. Originally I'm a sound engineer in a theatre (in the Netherlands) and since november last year we have a DC setup in our small stage. The setup is:
Doremi DCP-server
Doremi IMB
Barco DP2k-15C
Datasat AP20

Audio from IMB to AP20 is AES.
On the IMB, there's a HDMI input, which we would like to use for viewings outside of the usual screenings. When I last connected a MacBook, the picture was fine, but there's something odd with the audio tracks. When viewing a video with 5.1 sound, the center channel was missing. When putting just audio from iTunes, the audio came on input 3 and 4 on the AP20 (center and sub).
Now my question is: what's going wrong and where can I (if possible) correct it?
Later I'll try with a DVD/Blue-ray, but we're a little busy at the moment...

If the solution is above my head, I'll ask DCinex when they come for maintenance in November.

Thanks in advance!
Kind regards Joost

|  IP: Logged

Dave Macaulay
Film God

- posted 05-31-2016 02:22 PM      Profile for Dave Macaulay   Email Dave Macaulay   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The HDMI sound processing in the IMB is mysterious, I have tried to get details from Doremi without success. Some sources give 5.1 sound and some don't. Some come out as L/R (AES pair 1) which can be decoded with ProLogic to whatever that gives (4.1?).