Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Red grainy lines over most of my screen

   
Author Topic: Red grainy lines over most of my screen
James Waite
Film Handler

Posts: 52
From: London ON Canada
Registered: Nov 2007


 - posted 11-13-2015 06:51 PM      Profile for James Waite   Author's Homepage   Email James Waite   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
On Monday a few minutes into the movie someone came out and said the screen was all red.
About 75% of the screen was covered in red horizontal lines, close together, you could still see the image but it was like it was behind a translucent curtain. I reset the server (Doremi) but that wasn't it so I reset the projector, a Christie 2210, which fixed the issue.
Tonight someone came out during the preshow and said the screen was red so I reset the projector again.It wasn't red when I turned it on for the night
I'm concerned about it doing the same thing again so soon, usually when something odd happens we are good for a couple months before it acts up again.
The projector was installed in Feb 2013 so isn't all that old.
Any ideas?

 |  IP: Logged

Dave Macaulay
Film God

Posts: 2106
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: Apr 2001


 - posted 11-13-2015 07:40 PM      Profile for Dave Macaulay   Email Dave Macaulay   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
This is a problem in the TI end of the projector. Really, nothing else can do that with a DCP show.
The ICP isn't cheap - and the light engine is stupid expensive, so try the simple/free things first.
If you know how to remarry the projector, just reseating all the circuit boards would be the first step.
They are a bit of a trick to get out of a 2210 but it isn't rocket science.
Reseating the ICP solves a lot of odd problems, and once in there it doesn't hurt to reseat the PIB as well.
The inside connections - LEQD etc - cause trouble too and just reseating them can fix issues like yours.
You need to use an antistatic wristband or equivalent to do any of this stuff.
If you have reservations, get a qualified tech to do it.

 |  IP: Logged

Cody Polla
Film Handler

Posts: 5
From: Fredericksburg, VA USA
Registered: May 2014


 - posted 11-16-2015 02:29 PM      Profile for Cody Polla   Author's Homepage   Email Cody Polla   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Sounds like an ICP or TI chip issue in the projector. Reseating the ICP is the best shot to fix it easily. If it still is doing this, then i would recommend calling Christie for support, if available.

I have seen this issue with NEC in the past, bad formatter board on the TI chip is turning those mirrors 'on'.

 |  IP: Logged

Marcel Birgelen
Film God

Posts: 2562
From: Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Registered: Feb 2012


 - posted 11-16-2015 05:25 PM      Profile for Marcel Birgelen   Email Marcel Birgelen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Definitely sounds like an ICP issue. Reseating the ICP might help, if there really is a bad contact, but usually those kind of flaky contact problems result in hard communication errors, unfortunately.

Is the projector still under extended warranty?

 |  IP: Logged

James Waite
Film Handler

Posts: 52
From: London ON Canada
Registered: Nov 2007


 - posted 11-17-2015 07:46 PM      Profile for James Waite   Author's Homepage   Email James Waite   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It did give me a DCI self test error or something the other day but only the once.

It's doing it on and off erratically but seems to be increasing in frequency.

I've never messed around with the insides, I'm a bit nervous about it deciding I'm trying to pirate a movie and self destructing.

Are the things you mention something a reasonably intelligent guy who's not a tech but can read a manual might be able to handle? Our tech guy is a two hour drive away and I'm not sure when he's available anyway.

 |  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

Posts: 3713
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: Aug 2009


 - posted 11-17-2015 09:03 PM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
You need to be able to perform a marriage and/or clear a security tamper error. If you don't know what that is, better wait for your tech to appear, because it will stop your system from showing content.

To do this is not complicated, quite a few cinema operators do this from time to time.
Call your tech and make him teach you. Would be stupid to repeatedly lose shows because of such minor issues.

- Carsten

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.