Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Complicated Projectors... (Page 1)

This topic comprises 4 pages: 1  2  3  4 

Author Topic: Complicated Projectors...
Steve Matz
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 08-05-2014 01:05 AM      Profile for Steve Matz   Email Steve Matz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Since I have no experience with Digital Projectors;I had to look at some U-Tube Videos. One showing a BARCO S series;another a couple Australian Videos on Security features of a Christie or NEC: I have come to the conclusion that these Projectors are quite complicated pieces of Equipment compared to Film Projection Systems.I consider myself somewhat Knowledgable in Electronics; which after seeing the number of PCB's and IC's in some of these Units you will definitely needed a qualified Electrician to troubleshoot problems if they arise.These Projectors apparently from what I've heard on this Forum and around seem to be Reliable.I know working with CMOS,MICROCOMPUTER,MICROPROCESSOR,etc.Chips from other type Electronics that many of these IC's usually run on low negative voltage and are static sensitive so they don't like extreme heat. Perhaps in the one Video,I believe it was a Christie Unit;it had a lot of Kooling Fans all through the Unit;so the Mfgers are well aware that they need to keep the electronics as cool as possible...

For those of you that have been using them for a year or more now;are the Electronics Reliable and Holding up.I'm sure if any of those PCB's had to be replaced for whatever;your pocketbook would be quite a bit lighter...

|  IP: Logged

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

- posted 08-05-2014 01:55 AM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
You can thank the DCI Police for all of this.