Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » DOLBY SERVERS, setting TIME (Page 1)

This topic comprises 5 pages: 1  2  3  4  5 

Author Topic: DOLBY SERVERS, setting TIME
Allan Barnes
Expert Film Handler

- posted 06-08-2014 06:38 PM      Profile for Allan Barnes   Author's Homepage   Email Allan Barnes   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Anyone known how to set the time on series 100 DOLBY SERVERS?
My machine thinks its' 2008 and won't let run modern movies.
Dolby is returning calls on a Sunday. HELP

Our town lost power for 6 hours and I assume the "watch battery" inside is dead.

|  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

- posted 06-09-2014 07:27 AM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have zero experience with the DSP100, but I guess you should be able to find a way to enter the BIOS right after starting up the machine by means of pressing some F- or DEL Key on an attached keyboard. Then adjust the time in the BIOS, should fix the SMS time being wrong. Then leave the machine running. And contact Dolby or your tech for a service. They may also want to look at the mediablock secure clock battery.

Have these failed already for anyone here, on early Dolbys, Doremis, GDCs, etc.?

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster

- posted 06-09-2014 07:41 AM      Profile for Mark Gulbrandsen   Email Mark Gulbrandsen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Yes, you have to replace the memory battery on the motherboard then reset the time using the bios. It's a common battery and a relatively common Supermicro motherboard. I've had to to it several times myself. These units are getting way past normal battery life. Do not open up the DSP-100!

Mark

Allan Barnes
Expert Film Handler