Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Solaria One + alternative (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: Solaria One + alternative
Anhtu Vu
Film Handler

- posted 05-20-2014 06:27 AM      Profile for Anhtu Vu   Email Anhtu Vu   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm looking to purchase three new cinema servers and projectors. I've been using the Solaria One + for the past 10 months and definitely not happy with the product. Too many bugs, i feel like using a beta product. I'm still waiting for Christie to fix a lens shake problem, it's been 7 months and still no solution in sight.

Anyways, can anyone recommend a reliable cinema 2/4K projector from a company with great after sale support. Ideally, something small and does not need a ventilation duck. As for the cinema server, we most likely will go with Doremi. Thx

|  IP: Logged

Dave Macaulay
Film God

- posted 05-20-2014 06:52 AM      Profile for Dave Macaulay   Email Dave Macaulay   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Well, there's Barco and NEC. Both are good, we have mostly Barco but I can't complain much about either.
Ask at Cinema Excentris what their experience with Barco/Doremi has been.
For server Doremi SV/IMB is more expensive than their IMS but you get more IMO. I have not seen a Barco "Alchemy" ICMP yet but they look good on paper.

Carsten Kurz
Film God

- posted 05-20-2014 08:13 AM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I know someone with an early Alchemy IMS in his DP4k, but I haven't heard about the price yet. Software is still in early condition. The Barco DP2k-10Sx certainly is the better choice over the NEC900C or Solaria One given the small difference in price.