Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Could a DC package ingest without dialogue?

Author Topic: Could a DC package ingest without dialogue?
Stephen Furley
Film God

- posted 03-30-2014 03:08 PM      Profile for Stephen Furley   Email Stephen Furley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Strange question, but let me explain. As some of you may be aware I have been involved with a group which was originally formed to campaign for the re-opening of a small council-owned cinema where I used to work as a relief projectionist until 2010, and which was closed due to budget cuts in April 2011.

At one time it looked as if re-opening of the cinema, and other facilities in the arts centre may have been possible, but due to changed circumstances which I'll not go into here, this did not happen.

The campaign group then decided to try to hire the cinema from the council and run screenings themselves on one day each week. In theory the cinema auditorium was a space which was available for private hire, and I believe it was used for occasional events during the closure period. Of course, getting from this to an operating cinema has involved a great deal of work, but from now on it's two shows each Thursday, with the aim that it will one day return to being a full time cinema.

Most shows will be digital cinema, with occasional special events on film or alternative content. The first screening, two weeks ago was a special for council staff, on Blu-Ray, and last week was another special, with the director and several of the cast, plus the Mayor of Croydon, present, run from a 100 GB Quicktime file supplied to us by the director.