Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Dafuq? (aka unimpressed with Ballantyne / Strong) (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Dafuq? (aka unimpressed with Ballantyne / Strong)
Gracia L. Babbidge
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 06-18-2013 03:51 PM      Profile for Gracia L. Babbidge   Author's Homepage   Email Gracia L. Babbidge   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Right now, I am a rather annoyed cinema manager.
The cinema I manage has just one screen, and we converted from running changeovers with 2k reels, to running a Barco DP2K-10Sx, with a Doremi server, in the first week of April this year.
With only one screen, the owner of the cinema felt it would be murder for us to be closed for more than one day for our digital installation. As such, he spent quite a bit of time contacting many different people before deciding to work with Ballantyne/Strong for the purchase, installation, and service of our new gear. After that decision was settled, a lot of effort was made to coordinate all the details, so that in theory, the installation process would be smooth.

So much for that theory. All the equipment was supposed to be delivered day of installation (4/2), late in the morning/early in the afternoon. The base, and the server, and the temporary lens (the correct one was on back order), all arrived in the expected window. Since the projector itself was not delivered at the same time, we were very concerned, and immediately tried to find out where it was. Apparently, it was on its way to either Minnesota or Michigan, I don't quite recall. [Confused]