Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Dolby CP750 front display "washed out"

   
Author Topic: Dolby CP750 front display "washed out"
Jay Glaus
Expert Film Handler

Posts: 111
From: Pittsburgh, PA USA
Registered: Dec 2010


 - posted 05-11-2013 01:25 PM      Profile for Jay Glaus   Author's Homepage   Email Jay Glaus   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Don't know if anyone else has experienced this, or if this is normal, but I got Dolby CP750's for 2 of our screens which switched to digital. The front display occasionally gets so dim you can't hardly read it. Its almost like the back light stays on but the text gets so dim the screen looks washed out.

If you go into the menu for instance and go to the contrast setting, the second you touch it, the text goes right back up to full brightness instantly. What made me think, is for like the first two weeks this didn't happen. It just started, and they both do it at random times. Sometimes they power up "washed out", and other times they become "washed out" after time.

I almost thought it was a power saving thing, but like I said, this didn't happen when they were put in, and our tech said he never saw them do that and to his knowledge there was no power saving thing in the front display.

I took a picture when it was fine and when it was "washed out". The "washed out" picture actually looks better than it looks in person. In person, it looks way dimmer.

Is this normal?

 -

 -

 |  IP: Logged

Marco Giustini
Film God

Posts: 2535
From: Reading, UK
Registered: Nov 2007


 - posted 05-11-2013 02:55 PM      Profile for Marco Giustini   Email Marco Giustini   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Press the menu button several times, you'll end up to a couple of menu where you can set the contrast and brightness of the LCD. Set it where it looks best.

 |  IP: Logged

Jay Glaus
Expert Film Handler

Posts: 111
From: Pittsburgh, PA USA
Registered: Dec 2010


 - posted 05-11-2013 03:30 PM      Profile for Jay Glaus   Author's Homepage   Email Jay Glaus   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Yeah I've done that, it looks fine when I set it, then it dims. When I go back in to set it when it is dim, as soon as I move the contrast up or down by just one, it like wakes it back up instantly. That's why I thought it was like a power saver thing like when the screen dims on your laptop and you move the mouse and it comes back up to full. I don't know. [Confused]

 |  IP: Logged

Marco Giustini
Film God

Posts: 2535
From: Reading, UK
Registered: Nov 2007


 - posted 05-11-2013 03:42 PM      Profile for Marco Giustini   Email Marco Giustini   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
My apologies, I did not read the message carefully.
Never heard that. Silly question, do you save the setting with "V" when you finish?
Also, make sure you are on the latest FW 1.2.8.3

 |  IP: Logged

Stefan Vogels
Film Handler

Posts: 48
From: Aarle-Rixtel, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Registered: Jan 2010


 - posted 05-11-2013 03:50 PM      Profile for Stefan Vogels   Email Stefan Vogels   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have seen this issue before on some units. If you open up the unit than there's a small cable running towards it. You can reseat it and that often resolves the issue. If not than you propably need to have the unit replaced.

 |  IP: Logged

Jim Cassedy
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1521
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: Dec 2006


 - posted 05-11-2013 03:57 PM      Profile for Jim Cassedy   Email Jim Cassedy   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I second what Stefan said. I had a couple of DTS XD-10's where the same thing
started happening on the front panel display. Backlight stayed on, but text
became washed out. Opening up the unit & re-seating all the cables between
the front panel display and motherboard solved the problem on both units.

 |  IP: Logged

Steve Guttag
We forgot the crackers Gromit!!!

Posts: 11982
From: Annapolis, MD
Registered: Dec 1999


 - posted 05-11-2013 05:55 PM      Profile for Steve Guttag   Email Steve Guttag   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I can confirm that this happens on some units.

 |  IP: Logged

Jay Glaus
Expert Film Handler

Posts: 111
From: Pittsburgh, PA USA
Registered: Dec 2010


 - posted 05-11-2013 10:14 PM      Profile for Jay Glaus   Author's Homepage   Email Jay Glaus   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thanks guys! I'll give the reseating thing a try. I'm not too worried because I believe it's simply cosmetic, unless anyone has seen a unit die from this, but I doubt it?

 |  IP: Logged

Marco Giustini
Film God

Posts: 2535
From: Reading, UK
Registered: Nov 2007


 - posted 05-12-2013 05:17 AM      Profile for Marco Giustini   Email Marco Giustini   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I saw units with the washed out display but to be honest I thought someone had messed with them! [Smile]

If the unit is under warranty I'd have it replaced anyway. Swapping the unit - including the settings - is a 5 minute job.

Maybe it's just a cosmetic issue, or maybe one day your LCD will definitely die!

 |  IP: Logged

Jay Glaus
Expert Film Handler

Posts: 111
From: Pittsburgh, PA USA
Registered: Dec 2010


 - posted 05-12-2013 01:18 PM      Profile for Jay Glaus   Author's Homepage   Email Jay Glaus   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thanks, if the reseating doesn't work and it still gets washed out I may check and see what I can find out about the warranty.

 |  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God

Posts: 3582
From: Cologne, NRW, Germany
Registered: Aug 2009


 - posted 08-04-2013 04:38 PM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Any reactions from Dolby regarding this issue? Seems there are quite a few CP750 hit by this issue.

- Carsten

 |  IP: Logged

Marco Giustini
Film God

Posts: 2535
From: Reading, UK
Registered: Nov 2007


 - posted 08-04-2013 04:52 PM      Profile for Marco Giustini   Email Marco Giustini   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Indeed, and I am surprised they do not come up with something to fix what I call the Christmas Tree effect - when the unit LEDs are flashing like a Christmas tree!

A reboot always fix it though.

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.