Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » So how DOES a 2.35:1 DCP get shown at 1.85:1, exactly? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: So how DOES a 2.35:1 DCP get shown at 1.85:1, exactly?
William Kucharski
Expert Film Handler

- posted 04-25-2013 06:34 PM      Profile for William Kucharski   Email William Kucharski   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Is there an AR "button" per se? A checkbox or menu pull-down somewhere in control software?

I would have thought, especially as scope films are just letterboxed within DCP frames, that it wouldn't even be technically possible, but somehow Alamo Drafthouse did it. [Confused]

My apologies in advance if I'm mixing intellectual metaphors here; I'm new to the whole area of how DCP works. [Big Grin]

|  IP: Logged

Mike Blakesley
Film God

- posted 04-25-2013 06:49 PM      Profile for Mike Blakesley   Author's Homepage   Email Mike Blakesley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Well since it's all done by computers, it just shrinks the picture down to the width of the 1.85:1 frame. (That's if you're using a zoom lens.) So the picture is floating in the middle of the screen. At least, that's what happens here if I push the Flat button with Scope content playing.

Carsten Kurz
Film God

- posted 04-25-2013 07:43 PM      Profile for Carsten Kurz   Email Carsten Kurz   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post