Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » keystone correction for D-cinema projector

Author Topic: keystone correction for D-cinema projector
Joju Zacharias
Film Handler

From: Changanacherry-city,Kottayam-district, Kerala-state, India

- posted 01-22-2013 07:04 AM      Profile for Joju Zacharias   Email Joju Zacharias   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi, I don't work in a theater but I visit projection booth of all the cinema theater's I go to, also this is my first time in film-tech forum, so if I break any rules with my words please go easy on me.

Almost all the theater I seen the projector is located higher than the center of the screen, so the image is trapezoidal, it doesn't fill the screen neatly. I know that it's not recommended to correct it using picture warping softwares. Is it possible to use a "flexible mirror" to correct the image(like they use in christie duo). spending all the money on expensive projectors for a trapezoidal image doesn't seem good enough.

|  IP: Logged

Gavin Lewarne
Master Film Handler

- posted 01-22-2013 07:57 AM      Profile for Gavin Lewarne   Email Gavin Lewarne   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
was this on a common height or common width screens?

We have a common height screen, meaning adjustable side masking. We completely fill the height of the screen in both flat and scope, and only had to digitally mask (in the projector) just a handful of pixels on just two corners. The only time you see a trapezoid is on letterboxed flat material (eg trailers for a scope film in the flat format) and even then its exceptionally slight. Using the digital side masking feature of the projector, we have perfectly perpendicular edges of the picture on the left and right, again, only masking just a minuscule number of pixels