Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » RealD,Dolby3D,Xpand vs dual-projector setup (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: RealD,Dolby3D,Xpand vs dual-projector setup
Nastia Motovilova
Film Handler

- posted 01-05-2013 04:15 AM      Profile for Nastia Motovilova     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello to everyone,

As I am new to 3D tech and I'm trying to clear a few thoughts and was wondering if you could offer some insight.

My question is, if there was a choice, would you go with a "traditional" 3D dual projector setup whereby one projector is for the left eye and the other for the right with the static filters in front of the projectors (of course properly aligned) or would you go with one out of the three, Xpand,Dolby, RealD?

This is for a DCI projection system, for an only 3D cinema, using a silver screen (though the silver screen can be replaced if need be). With the dual projector linear polarized set up, there would be some loss of brightness when the image passes through the filter in front of the projector and again when it passes through the glasses. However, with a dual projector set up, there is a benefit of the increased brightness.
There are other benefits as well, such as not needing to go with a trademarked system which bears license costs of buying the 3D technology, relying on a third party for repairs, potential license costs etc

I would really appreciate your opinion on the above.

Regards

|  IP: Logged

Antti Nayha
Master Film Handler

- posted 01-05-2013 05:17 AM      Profile for Antti Nayha   Email Antti Nayha   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
There was some discussion about the options earlier in this thread.