Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Can I connect a Geffen Scaler to Doremi via serial? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: Can I connect a Geffen Scaler to Doremi via serial?
Matthew Philp
Film Handler

- posted 09-10-2012 09:36 AM      Profile for Matthew Philp   Email Matthew Philp   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Has anyone managed to control a Geffen A/V Cinema Scaler Pro II using the serial port on a Doremi DCP-2K4?

I have no knowledge whatsoever about serial commands, and although the Geffen's instruction manual includes the commands necessary I cant seem to make a connection. Ive added the geffen as a serial device and used the information given to me there to set it up, then created a macro to send the command but i get no response.

Has anyone managed to do this, or does anyone have any ideas about how to achieve it? The main aim is to be able to select inputs using macro commands and eventually add them to my controlview tab on the 2K4 for easy changing of the geffen's inputs.

Any help would be most appreciated.

Matthew

|  IP: Logged

Scott Norwood
Film God

From: Boston, MA. USA (1774.21 miles northeast of Dallas)

- posted 09-10-2012 10:05 AM      Profile for Scott Norwood   Author's Homepage   Email Scott Norwood   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have not used the Doremi server; I have used the Gefen scaler and have not been terribly impressed.

That said, I do know about serial communication.