Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Changing Sound Levels in a CP500

Author Topic: Changing Sound Levels in a CP500
Bonnie Rose
Film Handler

- posted 07-01-2012 07:34 PM      Profile for Bonnie Rose   Author's Homepage   Email Bonnie Rose       Edit/Delete Post 
I recently started working at a theater and the gain on the amps were turn on full after reading the CP500 manual it said sound levels should be around 7. After turning the gain down I tried to reset the sound levels that are already preset and cant figure out how to get to this in the soft keys.My background is in servers and know little about soundracks. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks Bonnie

|  IP: Logged

Manny Knowles
"What are these things and WHY are they BLUE???"

- posted 07-01-2012 08:22 PM      Profile for Manny Knowles   Email Manny Knowles   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I know this is going to make me seem like an insensitive prick, but...

Honestly, you need to hire a professional -- this is not work that you should be doing since it's not part of your skill set.

7.0 is what the main volume should be set to when calibrating at reference level. This is referring to the main volume knob on the front of the CP-500.

The actual amplifiers should be at a "known repeatable" setting -- ideally, they would be set to maximum, according to Dolby.

(Re-read step one under "Room Equalization")

You should return the amps to their original, maximum setting in order to restore the system to what it was before you "messed with it." Luckily your amps were indeed at a repeatable setting -- and this is one reason Dolby makes this recommendation -- people are so often compelled to tinker around back there.

Hire a pro -- please.

Monte L Fullmer
Film God