Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Screen artifact in Moneyball

Author Topic: Screen artifact in Moneyball
Frank Cox
Film God

- posted 11-05-2011 12:06 PM      Profile for Frank Cox   Author's Homepage   Email Frank Cox   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I just started playing Moneyball yesterday and I have a small white hollow circle (an O) at the bottom left of my picture. It's at the extreme bottom edge/corner of the picture, and on my screen (which is 9'7" high) it's about one inch tall. It's not present during the trailers; it starts with the very first frame of Moneyball, i.e. the Columbia Pictures logo. It's perfectly round, white, and it doesn't move. It stays on-screen for about the length of the first reel (18 minutes or so) and then it disappears. But of course I have no reels.

It must be built-in to the DCP file; if it was corrupted data of some kind I'm pretty sure it just wouldn't play at all.

What is it? And have any of you folks noticed that when you played Moneyball?

|  IP: Logged

Jim Cassedy
Phenomenal Film Handler

- posted 11-05-2011 12:51 PM      Profile for Jim Cassedy   Email Jim Cassedy   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Gee, it's not on my film print of Moneyball.
But I have noticed that I have to play the digital sound
tracks (Both Dolby & DTS) several points higher than normal
on all three prints I've had or I get complaints of low volume.
And just to make things more "fun" - the "Girl With The Dragon
Tatoo" trailer that came attached is extremely loud. In fact,
there are spots in that trailer where if I look at the little
channel bar-graphthingy on the CP-650, all the screen channels
are mixed at pratcially the same level. (In other words- the
sound coming out of the surrounds is equally as loud as the