Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Has your screen brightness improved with digital conversion?

Author Topic: Has your screen brightness improved with digital conversion?
David Kilderry
Master Film Handler

- posted 09-17-2011 12:22 AM      Profile for David Kilderry   Author's Homepage   Email David Kilderry   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have noticed some local theatres here have a vastly improved brightness since their digital conversion (close to correct now). Others, in my view, seem dim even on 2D compared to when they were 35mm.

As a drive-in operator, I'd certainly be looking for an improved light output from the big Barco 32B (or equivalent Christie CP2230 or NEC) compared to our current 5,000 watt Strong Xenon lamphouses.

Has your theatre improved its light with the digital conversion? What can we expect at the drive-in? Our three largest screens are 80 feet wide on scope, 5,000 watt xenons, projectors are Phillips DP 70 and Century DAW 2.

|  IP: Logged

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

- posted 09-17-2011 02:20 AM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I was running 3k lamps in our Christie SLC consoles in houses that were previously running 35. Now, with BARCO 20C units with a 4k bulb in it, the brightness definitely has increased.

To make things simple for to see if your screen can reflect a good image is to measure and record down the length of throw from lens to the left corner of the screen and the width of the screen itself.

These two measurements will be needed to begin to see if a
31000-lumen 4K Digital Cinema Projector
Model: NC3240S can light up the screen. This unit uses a 6k bulb.