Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Server to Projector wiring question.

   
Author Topic: Server to Projector wiring question.
Christopher Schaffner
Film Handler

Posts: 33
From: Elizabethtown, KY, USA
Registered: Feb 2011


 - posted 08-04-2011 10:25 PM      Profile for Christopher Schaffner   Email Christopher Schaffner   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello all.
We are in the process of moving a server from the projectors rack, to the sound rack so its at eye level, and I was wondering, Would there be any interference if we were to run the video and network cables through the conduit channel with the power wires??

The video cables are shielded Coax, and just your standard CAT5e net cable.

This isn't completely necessary but I like things to look professional and clean.

Server is a GDC SA-2100A, and the projector is a Barco DP-2k.

 |  IP: Logged

Jeremy Weigel
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1062
From: Edmond, OK, USA
Registered: Mar 2007


 - posted 08-04-2011 10:37 PM      Profile for Jeremy Weigel   Email Jeremy Weigel   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Running low voltage and high voltage wiring through the same conduit is usually not permitted by electrical code.

 |  IP: Logged

Christopher Schaffner
Film Handler

Posts: 33
From: Elizabethtown, KY, USA
Registered: Feb 2011


 - posted 08-04-2011 10:59 PM      Profile for Christopher Schaffner   Email Christopher Schaffner   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
That answers my question. Thank you Jeremy

 |  IP: Logged

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster

Posts: 16227
From: Bountiful, Utah
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 08-06-2011 03:26 PM      Profile for Mark Gulbrandsen   Email Mark Gulbrandsen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Thats actually illegal in most locations. The wiring that goes along with any AC woring has to be at least 600 volt insulated wiring and the coax and Cat 5e are not. Hence, those will require a seperate conduit or flex. If you have Plenum rated wiring it could be neatly cable tied up without flex or conduit.

Mark

 |  IP: Logged

Steve Guttag
We forgot the crackers Gromit!!!

Posts: 12212
From: Annapolis, MD
Registered: Dec 1999


 - posted 08-06-2011 05:27 PM      Profile for Steve Guttag   Email Steve Guttag   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Watch out on cable tying Cat cables...you'll ruin their characteristic if you go too tight...same with not paying attention to the bend radii. Coax also has rules on how it must travel.

I see a lot a bad work out there.

-Steve

 |  IP: Logged

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster

Posts: 16227
From: Bountiful, Utah
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 08-06-2011 08:11 PM      Profile for Mark Gulbrandsen   Email Mark Gulbrandsen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Steve is correct about this. The radius of the bends should be at least be 4X the diameter of the cable. Set your cable tie cutter gun to it's lowest setting for the size tie you are using and preferably use wider cable ties. The extremely narrow ones seem to do the most damage. The tie should only keep the bundle together... it should not squeeze the insulation of the cables. Follow 1:1 color scheme on your connectors. The bend for coax varies depending on the coax itself. You can check the manufacturers specs on this or at a minimum you could follow the rules for ethernet bend radius you'll probably stay out of trouble...

Mark

 |  IP: Logged

Christopher Schaffner
Film Handler

Posts: 33
From: Elizabethtown, KY, USA
Registered: Feb 2011


 - posted 08-06-2011 09:45 PM      Profile for Christopher Schaffner   Email Christopher Schaffner   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Okay, Thanks for the info. I suppose the original conduit for the old 35mm's analog sound would work great? it doesn't have sharp bends in it.

 |  IP: Logged

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster

Posts: 16227
From: Bountiful, Utah
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 08-08-2011 05:07 PM      Profile for Mark Gulbrandsen   Email Mark Gulbrandsen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
As long as you can get the connectors through the conduit it is large enough! Stagger them if necessary but try to pull them all at one time.

Mark

 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)  
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.