Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Master Image VS. Real D (Page 1)

This topic comprises 5 pages: 1  2  3  4  5 

Author Topic: Master Image VS. Real D
Preston Drum
Film Handler

- posted 11-17-2010 11:19 AM      Profile for Preston Drum   Author's Homepage   Email Preston Drum   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
We are planning on upgrading one of our houses to Digital with 3D capabilities. I have very little experience with Digital 3D and I am finding it difficult to advise the management partners on which 3D system to buy.

We will be installing a NEC 2000C with a NEC Zoom lens. We were quoted for a Master Image system but we have to buy it out right. Real D has no upfront cost but they take a cut of the ticket price and you are locked in for years.

Any opinions on Master Image or Real D? Thanks!

|  IP: Logged

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

- posted 11-17-2010 01:24 PM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Welcome - you oughta look into Dolby Digital 3D which would work great with that NEC 2000.

Be the most cost effective move in the long run.

Good luck - Monte

John Wilson
Film God

- posted 11-17-2010 01:30 PM      Profile for John Wilson   Email John Wilson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi Preston and welcome to Film-Tech.