Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Digital Cinema Forum   » Questions about DCP audio and Dolby LFE levels

Author Topic: Questions about DCP audio and Dolby LFE levels
Stephen Angelini
Film Handler

- posted 05-11-2010 12:19 PM      Profile for Stephen Angelini   Email Stephen Angelini   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi all. This is my first post here. I'm a composer and sound designer and I've been working with 5.1 surround for while but I'm now involved with a project that has brought me behind the projector so to speak and into the world that most of you see every day. 2 weeks ago I didn't even know what a DCP, or a DSS100, or a CP500/650 were, so bear with me [Wink]

To be succinct:

1. Is a DCP always pure PCM audio? Is any other format ever used on a DCP?

2. When a CP500 is set to "External 6-channel" is all Dolby Processing bypassed? This would mean that the LFE plays back at unity gain, as opposed to the +10 DD applies decoding the LFE from SRD.

The cinema where we're trying out stuff plugs a Blu-Ray via HDMI through a Yamaha Receiver and then connects the 6 analog outs to the "External 6-channel" inputs of the CP500.

3. Since the CP500 analog inputs are consumer line standard 300mV, can I assume that if the Yamaha is set to 0dB gain and that there's no other processing done by it (Straight Mode), the level I'm getting out of the system is roughly representative of the audio levels I'd get by putting Blu-ray PCM audio onto DCP?

4. How does the the CP500 handle clipping? Is there any built-in management or compression applied to a clipping signal? Or is there any additional protection typically included into the cinema output chain to protect speakers from damage (compressors or limiters)?

Thanks for any insights!

Stephen

|  IP: Logged

Carsten Kurz
Film God