Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum


Post New Topic  Post A Reply
my profile | my password | register | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum   » Operations   » Large Format Forum   » Gladiator in IMAX theatres (Page 1)

 
This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 
 
Author Topic: Gladiator in IMAX theatres
Dick Vaughan
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1032
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
Registered: Jul 2000


 - posted 11-21-2000 05:25 AM      Profile for Dick Vaughan   Author's Homepage   Email Dick Vaughan   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
A friend just posted this to me.

DreamWorks Pictures' and Universal Pictures' 'Gladiator' Grows to IMAX
Proportions

LOS ANGELES, Nov. 20 -

On November 22, it will be Maximus on IMAX, as DreamWorks Pictures' and
Universal Pictures' "Gladiator" is re-released on IMAX screens in selected
cities nationwide. The release on IMAX screens comes one day after the
blockbuster hit also becomes available domestically on VHS for rental and
in a sell-through Special Edition DVD on November 21.

Thirty-five millimeter prints of "Gladiator" will begin showing on IMAX
screens on November 22 in Los Angeles, New York, Chicago, Atlanta, San
Francisco, Toronto and other cities, with additional markets to be added as
available.


Does any one know anymore about this?

Why would Universal want this on IMAX screens? We run 35mm and 70mm features on these screens but I much prefer seeing them on a properly masked conventional screen.

 |  IP: Logged

John Pytlak
Film God

Posts: 9987
From: Rochester, NY 14650-1922
Registered: Jan 2000


 - posted 11-21-2000 06:07 AM      Profile for John Pytlak   Author's Homepage   Email John Pytlak   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
As long as the image is not so large that it is too dim, I can tolerate not having proper screen masking. I also hope that the speaker placement is correct, since theatrical features would not use the same speaker placement of an IMAX film. For those IMAX theatres playing theatrical features --- do you use separate speakers for theatrical features? How do you assign the sound channels? How are your surrounds positioned? Do you do a full A-chain alignment and reoptimize equalization?

------------------
John P. Pytlak, Senior Technical Specialist
Worldwide Technical Services, Entertainment Imaging
Eastman Kodak Company
Research Labs, Building 69, Room 7419
Rochester, New York, 14650-1922 USA
Tel: 716-477-5325 Fax: 716-722-7243
E-Mail: john.pytlak@kodak.com

 |  IP: Logged

Dick Vaughan
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1032
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK
Registered: Jul 2000


 - posted 11-21-2000 07:57 AM      Profile for Dick Vaughan   Author's Homepage   Email Dick Vaughan   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
When we installed the equipment in the BFI London Imax Cinema we installed a completely separate sound system.Details below

Dolby CP200
Dolby SRA5
Dolby DA20
DTS 6D
SDDS3000

Screen Speakers
5 x JBL 4675C

Sub bass
4 x JBL4645B

Surrounds 16 x JBL 8340
4 on each side wall
8 across back

QSC 1310 and QSC 900 amps

This gave us the possibility to reproduce
35mm
Optical Mono
A type
SR
SRD
SDDS 5.1 & 7.1
DTS

70mm
Non dolby /Todd
A type mono and split surround
SR
DTS

 |  IP: Logged

Gordon McLeod
Film God

Posts: 9460
From: Toronto Ontario Canada
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 11-21-2000 11:17 AM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
We ran it for a month at Ontario place and then they pulled it from us.

 |  IP: Logged

Rory Burke
Expert Film Handler

Posts: 181
From: Burbank, CA, USA
Registered: Jun 2000


 - posted 11-21-2000 04:59 PM      Profile for Rory Burke   Email Rory Burke   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
From what I understand on some of the IMAX screens where there are no conventional 35mm speaker/amp set up unlike Dick Vaughan's set up at BFI. The cinema sound processor is connected to the Sonic's sound rack thru a series of in line isolators taking the raw signal from the processor, (ie. CP-500) all six channels being fed into the Sonics processor. However from what I understand also...doesn't the Imax Center top speaker array take a summed LCR signal including the unfiltered LFE signal? If so, would it add an intersting dynamic to the overall sound quality. If in fact the center-top channel at an IMAX theater is summed LCR with LFE then how would a proper B-chain be done. Would one just turn off the Center top channel amps to stick more closely to a 5:1 setup? Anyone?

Plus thru the grapevine, it seems much to John P's dismay that they ****ARE*** trying to fill the entire IMAX screen width with the scope picture. Oy vey! Was this wise? Anyone?

Rory

 |  IP: Logged

Gordon McLeod
Film God

Posts: 9460
From: Toronto Ontario Canada
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 11-21-2000 05:46 PM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
At cinesphere this is how we did it
The outputs of L/C/R of the CP200 are fed to the sonics system.
Lc and Rc go to a pair of JBL crossovers that drive a pair of Bryston 4B's into the Altec A6's
The bass sum in the sonics is still used
P/Q is fed to the two sonics surrounds as well as to 5 Bryston 4B's that power an array of JBL surrounds on the side walls
The CP200 sub is fed to a pair of Cerwin Vega amps and 4 sennsuround earthquake subs

 |  IP: Logged

Michael West
Film Handler

Posts: 67
From: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Registered: Apr 2000


 - posted 11-21-2000 09:47 PM      Profile for Michael West   Author's Homepage   Email Michael West   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
we have never used our victoria 8, 35 and 70mm projector yet - we would still have to use a conventional lens that of course would never fill the imax screen - the test runs we did were horrible, although our sound (cp200) running through our sonics rack, was fantastic. Would the public really want to see a 35mm film “forced” on the imax screen? or does the public really care what it is? The quality of this Victoria 8 pales in comparison to our SR Imax projectors - but then our crowds for the Imax features certainly do not exactly sell out either.

 |  IP: Logged

Mark Lensenmayer
Phenomenal Film Handler

Posts: 1580
From: Upper Arlington, OH
Registered: Sep 1999


 - posted 11-22-2000 08:35 AM      Profile for Mark Lensenmayer   Email Mark Lensenmayer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Gladiator showed up today at the Columbus Marcus Imax, running one show a day at 9:30. I saw 35mm in there about a year ago, and it didn't look very good.

I'll try and get over there and check it out.

It really pains me to see the 70mm rollers on the projector, and then sit there and watch 35mm get threaded up.

Mark L.

------------------
"As a moral to young men who come down to the city, don't go round breaking people's tambourines."

 |  IP: Logged

Randy Stankey
Film God

Posts: 6424
From: Erie, Pennsylvania
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 11-22-2000 08:53 AM      Profile for Randy Stankey   Email Randy Stankey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Wouldn't it be cool if they would blow up the print to IMAX?

Okay, the IMAX platters don't hold that much film. I know. BUT... what if you had a 3D booth? Would it be possible to make a changeover? You DO have 2 projectors and 2 platter sets. You've got all the parts. Now, is it possible to put them all together and make it fly?

 |  IP: Logged

Gordon McLeod
Film God

Posts: 9460
From: Toronto Ontario Canada
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 11-22-2000 09:43 AM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Changeovers in Imax was how some of the SR theatres ran Fantasia 2000

 |  IP: Logged

Randy Stankey
Film God

Posts: 6424
From: Erie, Pennsylvania
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 11-22-2000 10:37 AM      Profile for Randy Stankey   Email Randy Stankey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
So, was it a pain in the butt? or was it automated?

I can only imagine how it would be done.

 |  IP: Logged

Dave Cutler
Master Film Handler

Posts: 277
From: Centennial, CO
Registered: Jun 2000


 - posted 11-22-2000 12:26 PM      Profile for Dave Cutler   Email Dave Cutler   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Haven't ever tried but I think I could run manual changeovers on my system (iWerks 1570 3D), but I am not sure how smooth they would look. I know we couldn't automate it without a software upgrade, but it would be cool to do it, once.

 |  IP: Logged

Randy Stankey
Film God

Posts: 6424
From: Erie, Pennsylvania
Registered: Jun 99


 - posted 11-22-2000 01:40 PM      Profile for Randy Stankey   Email Randy Stankey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Well, if it was Fantasia 2000 then the whole movie is made up of segments. One for each musical number. The changeover could be between segnemts and it would be somewhat easier, I suppose.

If I remember, the 35mm reel changes were all between segments, weren't they?

 |  IP: Logged

Adam Martin
I'm not even gonna point out the irony.

Posts: 3661
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Nov 2000


 - posted 11-22-2000 03:41 PM      Profile for Adam Martin   Author's Homepage   Email Adam Martin       Edit/Delete Post 
Changeovers on the IMAX SR (2-projector) booth are automated.

For Fantasia 2K, the changeover actually occurs in the middle of the Steadfast Soldier segment: After the soldier gets eaten by the fish, the jack-in-the-box hands the ballerina a bouquet of flowers, she pushed them back at him, >>changeover<< and then he has a shocked look on his face.

IMAX designed a platter conversion for IMAX Classic (1-projector) booths for F2K that allowed for the use of larger platters for the longer movie with no changeover needed.

 |  IP: Logged

Adam Martin
I'm not even gonna point out the irony.

Posts: 3661
From: Dallas, TX
Registered: Nov 2000


 - posted 11-22-2000 03:50 PM      Profile for Adam Martin   Author's Homepage   Email Adam Martin       Edit/Delete Post 
Oh, and speaking of F2K, if you saw it in large format, you probably noticed how grainy the Sorcerer's Apprentice segment was. That is what happens when 35mm is blown up to 15/70 format - you can see the grain and blemishes from the original (smaller) negative.

A similar phenomenon occurs when trying to fill up a large format screen with a film originating on 35mm. It is blown up so much that the film grain is visible and it is practically impossible to get good focus.

But it does sound pretty good with a Dolby CP500 going into the Sonics processor! Back to the days of Sensurround with the vibrating seats!


 |  IP: Logged



All times are Central (GMT -6:00)
This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 
 
Post New Topic  Post A Reply Close Topic    Move Topic    Delete Topic    next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:



Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classicTM 6.3.1.2

The Film-Tech Forums are designed for various members related to the cinema industry to express their opinions, viewpoints and testimonials on various products, services and events based upon speculation, personal knowledge and factual information through use, therefore all views represented here allow no liability upon the publishers of this web site and the owners of said views assume no liability for any ill will resulting from these postings. The posts made here are for educational as well as entertainment purposes and as such anyone viewing this portion of the website must accept these views as statements of the author of that opinion and agrees to release the authors from any and all liability.

© 1999-2018 Film-Tech Cinema Systems, LLC. All rights reserved.