Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » The Afterlife   » MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION 1954

Author Topic: MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION 1954
Claude S. Ayakawa
Film God

- posted 02-02-2009 06:22 PM      Profile for Claude S. Ayakawa   Author's Homepage   Email Claude S. Ayakawa   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I now have the Criterion DVD of MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION which include both the 1935 and the 1954 screen version from a novel by Lloyd C Douglas who also wrote THE ROBE. I have not yet seen the 1935 version but I have always remembered the 1954 remake by Douglas Sirk starring Rock Hudson and Jane Wyman when it was released by Universal-international when I was a high school freshman. Beside enjoying the touching story, I remember wearing out the long play recording of the movie soundtrack featuring a very beautiful score utilizing the main theme from the 4th movement "Ode To Joy" from Beethoven's 9th Symphony and an Etude by Chopin. Being Criterion and acceptable, I expected the 1954 version to have better color but just like another Douglas Sirk film, WRITTEN ON THE WIND they had released, the color looked very drab compared to the beautiful hues of dye transfer Technicolor the film had when I first saw it in a movie theatre. Actually, the thing a lot of people remember the most about a Douglas Sirk movie was the way he had used Technicolor. Universal Pictures released a 2002 film that was rumored to be a homage to him and the way he had used Technicolor. The title of the movie is FAR FROM HEAVEN starring Dennis Quaid,and Jullianne Moore and the radiant color hues in the film was made to look like IB Technicolor of his era. When MAGNIFICENT OBSESSION was released in 1954 with a wide screen aspect ratio, not all theatres had a wide screen and I saw it in open matt because my home town theatre, the Waipahu d