Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Community   » The Afterlife   » DVD 480p Question (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: DVD 480p Question
Larry Myers
Master Film Handler

- posted 01-03-2005 05:33 PM      Profile for Larry Myers         Edit/Delete Post 
Hi

I am really new to DVD. I have a few questions. I just got a Sony DVP-NS575P player as a gift. It has the standard connection plus the s-video connection and the component Y,Ps,Pr connections.

I also have a new standard Panasonic Tau 21inch flat screen TV with the same three types of connections.

Right now I am using the S-Video connection. I think the image quality is very nice. How much better would it be with the component connection? Would I see the difference in a standard set? Also, it says I can set a switch in the back to play 480p but I must use this component connection. Will 480p play on a standard set using the component connection?

Larry

|  IP: Logged

Paul Mayer
Oh get out of it Melvin, before it pulls you under!

- posted 01-03-2005 06:13 PM      Profile for Paul Mayer   Author's Homepage   Email Paul Mayer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Yes, you should be able to see the difference betweeen S-Video and component on a properly set up standard definition (SD) monitor equipped with these inputs.

What's the model number for your Panasonic Tau monitor? Not all of the Tau series are equipped for displaying progressive pictures.

Larry Myers
Master Film Handler

- posted 01-03-2005 07:08 PM      Profile for Larry Myers         Edit/Delete Post 
Hi