Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » stupid question: how do "dual 8" projectors work?

Author Topic: stupid question: how do "dual 8" projectors work?
Scott Norwood
Film God

From: Boston, MA. USA (1774.21 miles northeast of Dallas)

- posted 02-20-2019 03:46 PM      Profile for Scott Norwood   Author's Homepage   Email Scott Norwood   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
As the subject says, this is likely a stupid question. I have limited experience with small-gauge film, but that has always involved projectors that were specifically designed for standard-8mm or super-8mm film. Putting the wrong format in the wrong type of projector destroys the film, which is why the reel shafts use different designs.

But what about the projectors that claim to be able to show both formats? Somehow they need to accommodate different reel shaft sizes, different perforation sizes and pitches, and different aperture dimensions. I've never seen one of these up close, but would assume that the user doesn't actually need to change out every sprocket and the pulldown claw when switching between formats.

No doubt, there is a simple and brilliant bit of engineering at work in these, and I am curious as to what it is.

|  IP: Logged

Leo Enticknap
Film God

- posted 02-20-2019 05:18 PM      Profile for Leo Enticknap   Author's Homepage   Email Leo Enticknap   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post