Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Advice on first 35mm projector

Author Topic: Advice on first 35mm projector
David Ferguson
Film Handler

- posted 11-20-2018 04:23 AM      Profile for David Ferguson   Email David Ferguson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm new to 35mm (I have a few super 8mm projectors) but I recently acquired some 35mm films and I'd like to get into 35mm. I obviously understand that 35mm is quite a step up in terms of equipment, maintenance and cost, and so I was looking for some advice.

Cost is my primary concern, and I've seen this projector on ebay which fits the bill in terms of that, and also extras that it comes with. And after looking at this forum, it seems that Century projectors and Strong lamphouses are reasonably regarded.

One thing I'm not entirely sure about is the film transport. In picture 5 of the auction there is what I presume to be the take-up reel, but I can't quite envision where the supply reel would be. It's probably really obvious, but would one of you be able to explain it to a newbie?

Thanks!

|  IP: Logged

Phillip Grace
Expert Film Handler

- posted 11-20-2018 06:05 AM      Profile for Phillip Grace   Email Phillip Grace   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post