Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Help with a Peerless Magnarc (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Help with a Peerless Magnarc
Gary E Fenner
Film Handler

- posted 10-16-2018 05:25 PM      Profile for Gary E Fenner   Author's Homepage   Email Gary E Fenner   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I am a rookie here, but wanted to see if anyone can help me identify a date and maybe a value on two old projectors. They were made by J.E. McAuley Mfg. Co. of Chicago. They are Peerless Magnarc High Intensity Lamps. The arc volts are 31-40 and the arc amp is 32-65. The motor volts are 31-110 and the motor amps are .4-.9. They have the yellow knobs on them and the serial #'s are 5752 and 5753. Any information you could give me would be greatly appreciated.

|  IP: Logged

Donald Brown
Expert Film Handler

- posted 10-16-2018 06:39 PM      Profile for Donald Brown   Email Donald Brown   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If you open the back of the lamp, which will swing away from the main body of the unit on it's hinges, on the aluminum casting that you have fully exposed (which forms the back of the lamp's main body) you should notice a manufacturing date in raised relief lettering.
You may also be able to date the unit by identifying the specific model Magnarc that you have.
As for assessing the value of the lamp house, it primarily depends on the unit's condition and locating someone who might be interested in buying it.
The Peerless Magnarc was once the workhorse of the exhibition industry!

Gary E Fenner
Film Handler

- posted 10-16-2018 06:48 PM      Profile for Gary E Fenner   Author's Homepage   Email Gary E Fenner   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post