Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » 1000ft to 100ft

Author Topic: 1000ft to 100ft
Mainoo Smith
Film Handler

- posted 11-15-2017 03:22 PM      Profile for Mainoo Smith   Email Mainoo Smith   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello and thanks for letting me in. I'm a photographer that needs to turn a 1000ft reel into 100 ft rolls. I am hoping to do this using cores, split reels and rewinds. I am able to find 35mm rewinds at eye-watering prices on ebay but have been unable to find 35mm 100ft split reels anywhere - does such a ting exist? Does anyone know where I might be able to find one? Are there cheaper sources for film rewinds?

Thanks very much in advance.
mainoo

|  IP: Logged

Donald Brown
Expert Film Handler

- posted 11-15-2017 05:39 PM      Profile for Donald Brown   Email Donald Brown   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Mainoo: While I've never encountered a 100 foot split reel, an alternative might be a 35mm core wind. There were, formerly, a number of styles and sizes of these units available. In combination with a 35mm footage counter, you should be able to accomplish your objective of dividing up the film stock fairly accurately!
If you can't find an affordable bench rewind, you might have better luck scouting out a platter make-up table.

Leo Enticknap
Film God

- posted 11-15-2017 07:38 PM      Profile for Leo Enticknap   Author's Homepage   Email Leo Enticknap   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Are we talking about processed film or unexposed stock? If the latter, this will have to be done in complete darkness, and so a footage counter won't be much use. You'll also need an arrangement that will fit in a changing bag, unless you have a darkroom.