Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Spindle Sizes

Author Topic: Spindle Sizes
Steve McAndrew
Film Handler

- posted 08-31-2015 05:09 AM      Profile for Steve McAndrew   Email Steve McAndrew   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
As mentioned in a previous post I am fairly new to 35mm so on a bit of a learning curve!

I have a Kinoton FP20 that has 9mm Spindles on it with a separate locating pin.

I also have a film re-winder that has smaller (USA?) spindle with a key as part of the spindle.

While split reels etc seem plentiful for the re-winder, they don't seem to exist for the Kinoton spindles. Are they available? I have had a quote from a UK company to make a split reel for 9mm spindles but I would think the locating pin would foul on the core?

Finally I have a number of plastic split reels that seem to require cores with holes in them, however these cores never seem to be available. Can you buy them?

Thanks in advance for any help/advice.

Steve

|  IP: Logged

Stephen Furley
Film God

- posted 08-31-2015 07:24 AM      Profile for Stephen Furley   Email Stephen Furley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Steve, spindle sizes have never been standardised for 35 mm, there are many different types.

The ones on your rewinder, with the drive key, are 5/16", and are most common on equipment of American origin. Spindles of the same size but with a drive pin were used on some early projectors; think hand-cranked days, so you are unlikely to see one outside of a museum.

Traditionally, 3/8" was widely used in the UK, and 9 mm in mainland Europe. These both use a drive pin. They are very similar; I have some old 3/8" Kalee spools which will fit Kinoton 9 mm spindles, though they are slightly loose.