Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Dolby CP650 and DVDs Losing Audio

Author Topic: Dolby CP650 and DVDs Losing Audio
Tim Schroepfer
Film Handler

- posted 05-11-2015 02:31 PM      Profile for Tim Schroepfer   Email Tim Schroepfer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
All-

I'm new to this world and I'm looking for your help with a recurring issue with playing DVDs. When I cue up a DVD for playback the CP650 locks onto whatever signal the trailers and or title menu on the DVD player is spitting out. When we hit the feature (which often has the audio encoded differently) we lose audio. If I unplug the input and plug it back in the CP650 locks to the new format. Is this normal? If so is there a way to force the CP650 to switch formats on the fly or do I need to setup a user present for each format regardless of if it is coming in on the same input?

Thanks for your help!

Tim

|  IP: Logged

Mike Blakesley
Film God

- posted 05-11-2015 02:55 PM      Profile for Mike Blakesley   Author's Homepage   Email Mike Blakesley   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have a CP650 here and it doesn't "lock on" to anything unless it's told to by the automation, so you might have some kind of an automation issue. As for switching on the fly - it has the buttons on the front panel whereby you can do that. If you're playing a DVD it's probably set up on either the U1 or U2 buttons (or possibly NS, although not too likely). If you want to switch to digital cinema then that would probably be the "11" button.

I write all this assuming your CP650 is set up in a standard movie theater application -- if it isn't, then none of the above might apply, so your mileage may vary.

Marcel Birgelen
Film God