Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Advice: Ultra Short Throw 16mm Projection

Author Topic: Advice: Ultra Short Throw 16mm Projection
Michael Gerrity
Film Handler

- posted 06-29-2013 11:12 AM      Profile for Michael Gerrity   Email Michael Gerrity   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'm a film student at The School of the Art Institute of Chicago and I'm getting ready to put on a performance with live 16mm projections. For the piece I would ideally like to place the projector about 8-10 feet away from an 8x6 foot screen (or larger if I can). I know this is an extremely short throw for 16mm, but I'm wondering if there are any projector/lens combinations or DIY solutions that would satisfy my constraints.

Thanks in advance!

|  IP: Logged

Steve Guttag
We forgot the crackers Gromit!!!

- posted 06-29-2013 11:15 AM      Profile for Steve Guttag   Email Steve Guttag   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
20mm is about as short as I normally saw for 16mm projectors.

Jeff Taylor
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 06-29-2013 12:26 PM      Profile for Jeff Taylor   Email Jeff Taylor   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
...and with lenses that short you will need to watch out for vignetting, distortion, and other artifacts. Many of them are very slow, too. Good luck.

Scott Norwood
Film God

From: Boston, MA. USA (1774.21 miles northeast of Dallas)

- posted 06-29-2013 12:31 PM      Profile for Scott Norwood   Author's Homepage   Email Scott Norwood   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Is folding the light path with mirrors an option? Or rear projection?

Jack Theakston
Master Film Handler

- posted 06-29-2013 02:27 PM      Profile for Jack Theakston   Email Jack Theakston   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post