Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Outdoor screening illuminance

Author Topic: Outdoor screening illuminance
Edgar Prass
Film Handler

- posted 05-18-2013 01:56 PM      Profile for Edgar Prass   Email Edgar Prass   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Greetings,

In mid-summer we are going to do 3 outdoor screenings with our Ernemann 15 projector. As I'm quite new to the projection world I don't really know what to expect or how much lamp-power would I need. Projector has a 4kW bulb, (76,2mm) f1,9 lens for flat and 6 inch (152,4mm) f2,4 anamorphic lens for scope. Projection distance is about 28 meters. Screen is 7,8m wide. When in indoors the 4kW bulb for that screen seems more than enough. But the problem is that here in Estonia it doesn't really get dark at night in mid-summer due to being quite close to the polar circle. Sunset is at 22:15 at sunrise already at 5:00. In between is a twilight when the sun is just a bit below horizon.
Screenings can't start before 22:30 anyways. Is 4kW enough for 7,8m wide screen in such twilight conditions? Is there some reasonable way to do some calculations for it? Or does someone have personal experience?
For past few years I have been working for another outdoors film festival happening in similar twilight conditions, but not as a projectionist. There I know they use a 7kW bulb in a 35mm projector, but the screen is 20m wide and 90m away from the projector. Just a comparison. Really need some advice and tips.

|  IP: Logged

Frank Angel
Film God

- posted 05-18-2013 04:21 PM      Profile for Frank Angel   Author's Homepage   Email Frank Angel   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post