Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Horizontal Ghosting

Author Topic: Horizontal Ghosting
Neil Winchell
Film Handler

- posted 07-15-2012 12:41 AM      Profile for Neil Winchell   Email Neil Winchell   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
So glad to find this forum:) I've been running a twin in my hometown for the past 11 years and, a month or so from upgrading to digital, one of my projectors has decided to act up. The picture of the screen seems to have a lot of ghosting, though not in the usual up and down direction. The light seems to bleed out in all directions, though is more noticeable horizontally. I've checked the shutter, but it seems to be aligned properly.

Any thoughts as to what might cause the light to 'halo' out around bright images? I'm stumped, and my usual techs don't know either...and are too busy upgrading other theatres to come and check it out in person:)

Thanks for whatever help you guys can provide. Only wish I found this forum years ago. Would have saved me some grief:)

Neil

Strong Super Lume-X Lamphouse
Century Model R-3 Projector

|  IP: Logged

Brad Miller
Administrator

- posted 07-15-2012 02:10 AM      Profile for Brad Miller   Author's Homepage   Email Brad Miller       Edit/Delete Post 
Start by cleaning your lenses and port glass, then see if the problem is still there.

Does it happen in flat and scope?

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

- posted 07-15-2012 02:33 AM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I serviced a twin on time with one house having the similar issue, but it was only in Scope.