Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Question about cleaning film path

Author Topic: Question about cleaning film path
Gabriel Rhodes
Film Handler

- posted 01-30-2012 12:21 PM      Profile for Gabriel Rhodes   Email Gabriel Rhodes   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi all,
I know this is an amateur's question, but....I'm an amateur, so there you go.
Recently, while screening a film, the rubber rollers on my Elmo CL-16 disintegrated. I found a place that replaced the rubber on the rollers and they are like new. Before I put them back in the projector, I need to do a serious cleaning on this projector. There is rubber gunk spread throughout the film path. So, my two questions:
1. What's the best solvent and applicator to use to clean the film path on a 16mm projector?
2. How the heck do I clean my print of Free To Be You and Me? It has gunky rubber all over it! Is there a place I can ship the print to be cleaned?
Many thanks in advance.
Gabe

|  IP: Logged

Jack Theakston
Master Film Handler

- posted 01-30-2012 05:06 PM      Profile for Jack Theakston   Email Jack Theakston   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Use painter's grade Naptha for both the cleaning of your gate and cleaning the gunk off of your print (it should be safe on both).

Try not to use it on plastic parts in the projector. In that case, opt for 99% isopropyl alcohol.

Always test solvents on a small portion of whatever you're cleaning first before you go at it to make sure you don't pick anything unwanted up.

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

- posted 01-30-2012 06:18 PM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Film-Guard!

Does wonders on any cleaning of the film path, parts and miscellanous equipment associated.