Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Aging Theater Sound/Film/Calibraton Questions (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Aging Theater Sound/Film/Calibraton Questions
Wes Wakefield
Film Handler

- posted 11-27-2011 04:46 PM      Profile for Wes Wakefield   Email Wes Wakefield   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello! I'm a pro audio guy/consultant (mostly live) with an electrical engineering background and I've developed a relationship with a local 2 house theater that needs some serious help. Thanks to this forum and a couple of Syn-Aud-Con contacts, I've taken a crash course on theater sound and film projection, which I knew very little about before I was asked to help with this install.

The situation is kind of weird. The owner of the theater (the business) actually rents the building from a guy that's pretty cheap. I don't know the in's and out's of the contract, but apparently anything that's "bolted down" belongs to the landlord, including the projectors and the sound system. As such, my friend is hesitant to dump personal money into the infrastructure, and it's difficult to get money out of the landlord.

That being said, I'm pretty much donating my time to help them get the system in some sort of workable shape, as they have been losing customers due to hums/buzzes, etc. Call me a glutton for punishment; I've really enjoyed learning about the technical side of the theater world...

On to the issues at hand. The system is a hodge-podge of gear:
  • Smaart IIB processors
  • one house has a Smaart active crossover, the other has a JBL 2 way speaker level passive crossover that someone stuck in line,
  • Kintek KT-1045 monitor/exciters,
  • Kintek surrounds (unknown model #)in both houses