Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Life Expectancy of Rarely Used Bulbs?

Author Topic: Life Expectancy of Rarely Used Bulbs?
Chris Rasmussen
Film Handler

- posted 10-19-2011 01:08 PM      Profile for Chris Rasmussen   Email Chris Rasmussen   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Greetings,

I'm a tech for a small, high end, twin projector screening facility that uses 35mm irregularly. The CXL-20R bulbs have roughly 355 hours apiece since 2007.

I change bulbs in pairs to keep the light as even as possible and hope that some of you out there have experience with rarely used bulbs. What constitutes "old" in bulbs that aren't approaching their hours - is it an issue?

Thanks,

Chris ~

|  IP: Logged

Monte L Fullmer
Film God

- posted 10-19-2011 01:40 PM      Profile for Monte L Fullmer   Email Monte L Fullmer   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
355 hrs on them ... still babies for Christie 20R bulbs.

You must be running STRONG X-90 consoles.

Keep them in there and if a layer of dust gets on them, clean with denatured alcohol.

...and you really don't have to change in pairs since no two bulbs are alike. That's in a way, throwing money out the window doing that, for 20R bulbs have a good 2000hr warranty on them.

You go by how it looks on the screen and focus accordingly when needed. If the light looks dull, is then a changeout would be needed.

Randy Stankey
Film God

- posted 10-19-2011 03:34 PM      Profile for Randy Stankey   Email Randy Stankey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I have used three xenon lamps in my projector in 15 years.

The first one was an ORC, installed in 1996.
It lasted almost 1800 hours before it started getting hard to strike.

The second one was a Superior Quartz, installed in 2003.