Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » First post- Strong x90 problem, old town single screen

Author Topic: First post- Strong x90 problem, old town single screen
William Brittain
Film Handler

- posted 09-26-2011 06:24 AM      Profile for William Brittain   Author's Homepage   Email William Brittain   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi, I'm new to the forum and requesting help for a small town theater with a Strong x90/simplex setup. We townies have taken our turns keeping the old place alive, currently as a non-profit historical operation. No formal training but I've had over four years there, self-taught, operating and maintaining the X90. It has been a jewel, year after year with only minor maintenance.
Lately the automated start has been failing, it would engage then quit some way thru any show, now it won't engage at all. It runs as long as the button is held and quits when you let off. We really don't use the automation under the soundhead except as a failsafe, and I never saw an LED light up at the moment of shutdown, I don't believe that is the problem. Not sure what type of automation board it is either.
If anyone with experience would be familiar enough to recognize this problem and clue us in, faulty relay or what, we do not have a budget for expensive service and sure would appreciate a DYI.
We are using the manual toggle switches for now.

Bill in East Texas

|  IP: Logged

Dave Macaulay
Film God

- posted 09-26-2011 08:24 AM      Profile for Dave Macaulay   Email Dave Macaulay   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post