Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Dolby CP55 help (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Dolby CP55 help
Tom Wise
Film Handler

- posted 01-03-2011 12:11 PM      Profile for Tom Wise   Email Tom Wise   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi,
A friend of mine has recently taken over a small cinema and asked me to take a look at the sound system. Following an initial inspection of the gear I noticed that the backplane of their CP55 had been modded. My background is in the pro-audio industry (live bands etc.) so I have a good idea what most of the equipment does, however my knowledge of cinema-specific kit is limited, so I was hoping someone here may be able to assist me in identifying what exactly has been done to the unit.

-
Fullsize image (c.567kB)

After some brief Googling on the subject it looks like there are a few mods available for CP55's, although none that I have found seem to match what has been done to this unit. I understand that some mods require changes to the cards, which I didn't know or think to check last time I was there. I can go and take photos of these as well if the attached photo is not enough to go on.

Any assistance or links to information would be gratefully received.
Many thanks in advance,
Tom

|  IP: Logged

Steve Guttag
We forgot the crackers Gromit!!!

- posted 01-03-2011 12:46 PM      Profile for Steve Guttag   Email Steve Guttag   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The red wire in your drawing is for the Cat 222SR/A modification.

The non-red wires (could be gray, could be white) are for the Cat 441 modification found in the DA10 or DA20 manual.

-Steve

Sam D. Chavez
Film God