Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » I am a novice looking for advice on a problem print and or projector (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: I am a novice looking for advice on a problem print and or projector
John Davey
Film Handler

- posted 06-20-2010 10:42 AM      Profile for John Davey   Email John Davey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hello all

I new to the world of 35mm projection. I have been working at a local one screen for a little less than a year, although I have been a film collector for quite a few years. My technical knoledge is minimal. I can thread a projector and usually run a print successfully.

In say usually because as of late, I've been having a problem with a print I run once a week snapping and breaking during projection. I am trying to figure out if it is user error, a mechanical cause with the projection head, or if th print, although it appears to be fine, is just to old and brittle to handle a once a week run.

Out theatre has Ballentyne Pro 35 heads. The print in question is a composite from several different prints. I've inspected and cleaned it several times. It seems to have a normal level of flexability. Does not seem overly brittle at all in any of the sections. I have run this print for 3 months now weekly, and up until 3 weeks ago had no problems at all. Now, all of a sudden it is snapping every week in a different place.

Are Ballentyne heads known to be rough/picky with older acetate prints? Splices run real rough through these heads, even on brand new prints.

Could the snapping be caused by:
a. Too much tension at the sound head (the first two weeks it snapped at the sound head after the gate)