Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » D-5 Deck audio to cp65 or 650 (surround)

Author Topic: D-5 Deck audio to cp65 or 650 (surround)
Kirk Futrell
Film Handler

- posted 04-13-2010 10:49 PM      Profile for Kirk Futrell   Author's Homepage   Email Kirk Futrell   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Anyone ever had the pleasure of hooking up a Panasonic D-5 deck to a CP65 or 650. The tape is encoded for 5.1 (or more, haven't seen it yet) apparently NOT Lt Rt.
So I don't think using the analog outs into non-sync will work. Do I need to get some sort of converter box to convert from the digital outs which are aes3id to go into either a DA 20 or CP650. BTW I have no experience with the cp650 but know my way around the CP65 and DA 20.

Outside the box ideas welcome too.

|  IP: Logged

Phil Ranucci
Expert Film Handler

- posted 04-13-2010 11:04 PM      Profile for Phil Ranucci   Email Phil Ranucci   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
We use the Dolby DMA8+ to get D5 into our CP650 using the AES outputs. Does the DA20 have an external 6 channel analog input? Might work, don't know about levels and you'd probably have to make your own cables. If you're renting the D5 see if the rental house has cables already built. Don't forget the AES transformers!

Sam D. Chavez
Film God

- posted 04-13-2010 11:46 PM      Profile for Sam D. Chavez   Author's Homepage     Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
USL makes two devices to do this, the ECI, a multi-input DAC, or a DAX, a single input DAC.

Both are pretty reasonably priced.

Gordon McLeod
Film God

- posted 04-14-2010 12:08 AM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If your CP650 has the ex board it will accept it directly I believe

Scott Norwood