Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Going from Simplex E7 to Simplex PR-1014? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 3 pages: 1  2  3 

Author Topic: Going from Simplex E7 to Simplex PR-1014?
Celine Negrete
Film Handler

- posted 01-03-2010 04:46 PM      Profile for Celine Negrete   Author's Homepage   Email Celine Negrete   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
We have a Simplex E7. Our supplier is offering a PR-1014 (sorry...don't know the details about the Simplex projectors...maybe this is also called an XL?) from a recently closed theatre in Alameda, CA.

We only run the projector for seven screenings a week, so it doesn't get much work. The E7 has been pretty good for us. But, I am new to the job (two months...manager/projectionsist) so, I don't know a lot about it's history.

Any opinions about switching projectors? Pros? Cons?
Thanks!

-

|  IP: Logged

Gordon McLeod
Film God

- posted 01-03-2010 05:21 PM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Of all the simplexes the E7 had the best steady image of any of them
but they are a pain to repair

Cameron Glendinning
Jedi Master Film Handler

- posted 01-03-2010 05:34 PM      Profile for Cameron Glendinning   Email Cameron Glendinning   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
If the price is right, I would suggest you buy it as a spare, If your projector breaks down or if you move, then install it. If you do move and have space for a second screen etc It may come in handy. Murphys Law sometimes means that when a projector breaks down or needs rare parts a bargain is not usually around when you need it.

Mark Gulbrandsen
Resident Trollmaster