Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Visible Red LED Reader Compatibility with Vintage 35mm Prints (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Visible Red LED Reader Compatibility with Vintage 35mm Prints
Cris Capp
Film Handler

- posted 10-19-2009 03:20 PM      Profile for Cris Capp   Email Cris Capp   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Hi everyone,

This is my first post here at Film Tech and I have a few questions for you all. Please go easy on me as I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to cinema technology!

1. Is there a difference between ‘redeveloped silver soundtrack’ prints and old original vintage/classic 35mm prints? Or are they one and the same?
2. Are the Analogue LED Sound Readers, such as the BACP RSTR-2000, compatible with very old original classic prints? Is there any loss of audio quality while playing a vintage film?

So I understand that new cyan dye soundtracks require the LED readers. But I also read that the visible red LED is a compromise between old and new print technologies… and that by upgrading to the new visible Red LED’s I might actually have to sacrifice some sound quality when I show old vintage prints. I’ve heard that some archival presenters actually prefer the infrared LED’s to the visible red LED’s, is this true? My problem is that I have to show both- vintage films and new cyan dye films.

From what I understand- the negative density affects amplitude of the sound signal… so I visible red LED used on a silver soundtrack results in less amplitude than a tungsten white light reader.

This is taken from http://www.dyetracks.org/ci.os.0012.reddye.html

Table 1 – Summary of Print Color Balances for Soundtracks

Color Balance
Target Densities Negative
Density Recommended
Negative Density

IR Y C M

Silver