Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » Face Audio amplifiers for cinema? (Page 1)

This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2 

Author Topic: Face Audio amplifiers for cinema?
Randy Stankey
Film God

- posted 05-08-2009 12:41 PM      Profile for Randy Stankey   Email Randy Stankey   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
We're specing out new equipment for a sound system upgrade.
Our dealer is telling me he would like to use amplifiers from a company called Face Audio.

http://www.faceaudio.com/

We have one of these amplifiers in use elsewhere in the theater but it is not being used in the cinema system. It is nice, it looks good, it sounds decent and it seems to do the job. Our dealer tells me he can get a good price.

The thing is, I've never used Face Audio amplifiers before.

Has anybody else heard of them or used them?

What are your thoughts?

|  IP: Logged

Gordon McLeod
Film God

- posted 05-08-2009 01:22 PM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
It would be nice if they had a terminal strip for inputs
Also they seem a little on the deep side for some of the shallower racks

Louis Bornwasser
Film God

- posted 05-08-2009 01:45 PM      Profile for Louis Bornwasser   Author's Homepage   Email Louis Bornwasser   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Stick with Ashly, Crown, and QSC. Louis

Steve Guttag
We forgot the crackers Gromit!!!

- posted 05-08-2009 02:40 PM      Profile for Steve Guttag   Email Steve Guttag   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
I'll condense Louis' list down...stick with QSC or Lab-Gruppen. Crowns WILL fail on you and most are not great sounding. Ashley...blow way too many drivers...take it from a reconer.

Steve

Brad Miller
Administrator