Film-Tech Cinema Systems
Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE

my profile | my password | search | faq & rules | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Film-Tech Forum ARCHIVE   » Operations   » Film Handlers' Forum   » dolby CP65 question, new to this

Author Topic: dolby CP65 question, new to this
Bradley Johnson
Film Handler

- posted 02-26-2009 07:18 PM      Profile for Bradley Johnson   Email Bradley Johnson   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
Sorry guys,,,,,I am a newbie in this field so go easy on me.

I live in a very small town in Wa state and we are lucky enough to have a very old but great cinema here. It recently was sold by the original owners (it was built in 1952). The new owner came to me to help upgrade the sound system from the original mono amp and single speaker cabinet. I am a live audio engineer by trade and was the only one around with any audio related experience. The cinema is on a very slim budget and I have donated my time. I have completely installed a left center right setup with sub and surround speakers. At the moment we are still using the original setup,,,my question is based on the Dolby CP65. I bought one on line and noticed that it did not come with the cat 350 cards. Will it still function? Should I be looking for a pair of said cards and if so, is there a modification that needs to be done, or can I just put them in the slots? The unit is not marked as a 65A. One other question is on the projector end of things. The readers are Kelmars and have no other label or id that I can find. My question here is being that the original system was mono, will these need to be upgraded?

Thanks!

|  IP: Logged

Gordon McLeod
Film God

- posted 02-26-2009 08:07 PM      Profile for Gordon McLeod   Email Gordon McLeod   Send New Private Message       Edit/Delete Post 
The readers need to be changed to red light so a reverse scan is a must recomend BACP or the CE ones
What noise reduction card is installed